Sylvan Bloodline – Faerie blood Sorcerers for D&D 5th Edition.

https://daemonsanddeathrays.files.wordpress.com/2016/02/ea75e-beastmaster.jpg?w=478&h=619

“No, I can’t stop my hand from glowing like that.  Yes, the fey can be jerks sometimes.”

You’re not only knowledgeable about the Fey, you are part of their world as well.  It’s more than likely you are the descendant of a fey-based creature or someone who served an archfey patron.  Whether a gift or a curse, the powers of the fair folk have been passed down to you.  You’re able to weave your magic in fantastic and creative ways, including using your faerie-based charms to turn the tides of a fight in a pinch.  Because of this charm,it’s not uncommon for many onlookers to see your unnatural power as a bewitching beauty or something horribly uncanny.

Some of these fey sorcerers decide to hone their craft however they can.  Some will travel to the Fey realms of Arcadia in order to master their talents to the best of their ability.  Others will seek faerie-creatures on the Material Plane, in hopes of locating willing teachers.  Either path is a life filled with adventure and very fitting of their magical origins.  Some of these sorcerers take up a life of whimsy and free mindedness in tribute to the beings that blessed them with their gift.  As a result, it is possible that your personality may be capricious, secretive, chaotic, cheery or something else entirely; perhaps a reflection of a certain Court or being in particular.  For creatures already descended from fey, such as gnomes and elves, their use of sorcery is a means of bolstering power they already have.

DnD: Elf Druid Gwileth by CrimsonskyR

“Tell me your words of wisdom, Fey Owl!”

AUTHOR’S NOTE:  Greetings and well met!  Since we already have a patron for the warlock, I figured bringing back the fey bloodline was the next step.  With that, here’s my take on what I think a fey-sorcerer would look like.  I focus on enhancing enchantment and illusion magic, both popularly associated with faerie trickery.  I also look at allusiveness and the sneaky nature of the fey as well as the festive and charismatic aspects too.  And to top it off, defenses against charms and sleep effects.  Hopefully I hit all the touchstones I was looking at!  No matter, here’s a sorcerous character who’s home in the lands of faerie.

Incredible Presence.

At 1st level, you cloak yourself in the alluring power of the fey upon using the magic gifts they have bestowed upon you.  You may use a bonus action to cast Sanctuary (without using slot) upon using a spell that charms or causes fear.  You must take a short or long rest before using this ability again.

Quick Wit and Sharp Tongue.

At 1st level, you gain proficiency in Persuasion and Performance.  Once per long rest, you may gain advantage on a roll for either.

Fey Resilience.

At level 6, you find it easier to resistance to charms and sleep effects, like the fey themselves.  You have advantage on charm and sleep effects, if you didn’t have them already.  If have either of these, change them to immunity respectively.

Blink to Safety.

At level 14, you can swiftly shift away from danger when it’s at its worst.  When you are hit with an attack or fail a saving throw that deals damage, you can use a reaction to teleport 30 ft. (as per the Misty Step spell.)  However, the teleportation must be moving away from the threat that initially damaged you.  You may use this a number of times equal to your Charisma modifier before taking a short or long rest.

Bewildering Presence.

Upon reaching level 18, the sheer power of your existence can prove to be too much for some.  You can use Incredible Presence whenever you cast a spell that charms or causes fear, without taking a rest.  Also, you can substitute Sanctuary for a new effect.  Like Sanctuary, the target must make a Wisdom saving throw first.  However, upon failure, the target is charmed.  While charmed in this manner, they are incapacitated and their speed reduced to 0.  They may save again at the end of their turn to break this effect.  The same target cannot be affected again for 24 hours.

Too much fey magic… *bleat*

ART CREDIT: Mage Wars Beastmaster – Shadowcore; Elf Druid Gwileth – CrimsonskyR; Goat Warrior sketch colored – Ellison Pav

Created by Doctor Necrotic, for Doctor Necrotic Media.

4 thoughts on “Sylvan Bloodline – Faerie blood Sorcerers for D&D 5th Edition.

  1. But yes, I plan on publishing my work through 3PP or DM’s Guild. In that case, I don’t want you to risk getting into infringement trouble. That said, I encourage inspiration, as long as you make the inspiration into something all your own.

    Like

  2. Hey,
    I have built my own Fey-based sorcerer bloodline for D&D, and am planning to put it online. However, I based it largely on both your Sylvan Bloodline and another source. I thought I’d give you the chance to object before I made it generally available (currently, I’m only sharing it with members in my home game and the other user who significantly influenced my build. I would share it with you, but I have no way to privately send you a copy). I have no plans to profit from it, currently. I’m just trying to respect your intellectual property.
    Specifically, I pretty much copy/pasted Fey Resilience and Blink to Safety. Is this okay with you? A link to this page is included with it, so that people can clearly see where the content originated.

    Like

    • I’m not exactly keen on copy&pasting, but I appreciate your honesty. That said, I would like it if you change things up a bit more, as I’m very against plagiarism. It’s the reason why I’ve asked Reddit and Tumblr users to remove modified versions of my work. Even if it’s changing the fluff and a little tinkering of the mechanics, that’s fine.

      Like

  3. Pingback: Faerie-themed Content Masterlist | Daemons & Deathrays

Leave a Reply

